D is for … Diabetes?

No, that’s not the next entry for the Hex Crawl Alphabet. I normally don’t post things that aren’t game-related, but given that it’s been about two weeks since I did anything but art posts, I just wanted to give a little context. Three weeks ago I started a new position at work, which so far has involved a lot of shadowing and cross-training with departments I hadn’t previously worked with. When Labor Day weekend came rolling around, I just wanted to space out, so I did.

Then last Tuesday I took one of our cats to the vet for blood work because he’d been drinking a lot more water, and it turns out he’s diabetic. The vet had him stay as an in-patient to get the sugar levels under control and determine the insulin dose. Due to the timing of his admission (he went in Thursday morning) we didn’t get him back for basically 5 days – they didn’t do “diabetic discharge” on the weekends and they scheduled us at the very end of the day on Monday. Since he’s been home I’ve been getting a lot less sleep through a combination of his desire to be around us all the time now and my efforts to get him and his brother on a much more regimented feeding schedule to complement the insulin.

My point in sharing all of this is that I hope to get back to real posting soon, but I just haven’t had the mental wherewithal to get it done. There will be an art post later today as usual.

20130911-130241.jpg

Author: John Carr

Gamer, comic guy, office drone.

1 thought on “D is for … Diabetes?”

Leave a Reply

