Talking About Gaming vs. Actually Gaming

I’m wondering these days about how the blog will fare as the busy months for my job kick into gear. I’m sure there are plenty of people out there who wouldn’t bat an eye at working a 60+ hour week and writing a few posts on top of it; I’m not entirely sure that I’m one of those people. Fortunately things aren’t quite there yet, and I can hope that things remain a bit more sane and even this year at the office — I mean, any fool can hope, right?

Something else I’m thinking about is the role of talking about games in a busy life. My monthly game has been semi-regular for 2 years now, and that came after 2 or 3 years of struggling around the various obstacles of life to try and get a regular game together. But what I find interesting is that while I’ve been very happy to have a regular game, I’ve gotten far more satisfaction out of the past few months of having a regular game and the blog to go with it. I’m not actually gaming all that much more than I was, although I am working on fitting more in. But the combination of the blog and Google+ has really driven home to me that one of the things that I loved about gaming was talking about it with other gamers.

From 1999 until 2004, my only gainful employment was working at a comics and games store in the local mall while procrastinating on my return to college. During most of that time I was living in rented residences with guys that were also part of my D&D group, and for a good while there I was gaming a solid three nights a week as a matter of course (running two parallel campaigns and playing in a third run by Mike). But because of the store, I was still talking about gaming way more than I was actually playing games. Talking to people about RPGs and comics was literally part of my job — hard to beat it. (OK, admittedly it is nice to actually have a new if smallish car, eat things that aren’t peanut butter, actually be able to pay my mortgage on time, etc.) So even with a campaign going again with a lot of those same guys, it didn’t really feel like I was back into gaming until I decided to start the blog, and until I really started using Google+.

Some of the other campaigns I get to read about are just so damn awesome and inspiring. One thing I have really been meaning to do is get into a G+ hangout game one of these days; I hear about so many cool ones that are open for play but I just haven’t made the time to jump into one.

Ah well, I’ve rambled long enough I guess — the dryer buzzer just went off, and the wife is stuck writing for work into the late hours tonight, and I should really try and get in a little extra early tomorrow … I’ve arrived, I’m officially an old guy who should have a bumper sticker that says “I’d rather be rolling a d20.”

Author: John Carr

Gamer, comic guy, office drone.

2 thoughts on “Talking About Gaming vs. Actually Gaming”

  1. I’ve yet to fully figure out a 40 hour work week, writing posts for my site and still having time for gaming. I’ve definitely cut back drastically on game time and need to figure out how to fix that.

Leave a Reply

