Quick Aside on Pronouns

This probably doesn’t even warrant a post, but I have noticed that I tend to use male pronouns when writing rules. This is certainly not intended to be exclusionary in any way; I have gamed with women as well as men over the years, and in one of the longest-running groups I played in there was a woman who was as skilled of a role-player as anyone I have known. I think the “he / his / him” writing comes from a combination of running for an all-male group in my current game and from an ambivalence about the use of plural pronouns to refer to singular subjects.

Author: John Carr

Gamer, comic guy, office drone.

2 thoughts on “Quick Aside on Pronouns”

  1. I have the same habit of using male pronouns.
    I’m trying to use gender neutral writing but i’s hard breaking the habit.
    Instead of using “he / his” I try to use plural pronouns so that there is no gender.

    1. I agree that they/their goes a long way toward fixing it, but my time as a copy editor makes me feel wrong about using those terms as singular. My wife (managing editor of a trade magazine) has suggested that I should just work to phrase everything so that it is plural in the first place, thereby avoiding the problem.

Leave a Reply

