An Introduction

Hopefully this will be the hardest post to write …

So, hi, I’m John and I’ve been gaming for a long time. Not as long as a lot of people in the gaming blog world, and certainly not as long as most of the people in the OSR blog world, but it’s really those OSR blogs that inspired me to do this.

My goal here is to split the difference between general posts about my perspective on the history and culture of gaming, RPGs specifically, and posts detailing new material for my home game. I was most inspired toward the format by the excellent Hill Cantons and Tales of the Grotesque & Dungeonesgue blogs, as well by the high-quality commentary of James Malzewski’s Grognardia.

But unlike the authors of those blogs,  I wasn’t playing D&D in 1983. At that time I was just a 4-year-old, watching the D&D cartoon. I began playing AD&D 2nd Edition in 1993, my freshman year of high school, although like many gamers of my generation I had a table-top RPG pre-history starting in 1989 with Milton Bradley’s HeroQuest. So while I may share my thoughts on games dating from the earliest era, or new games that harken back to that era, I also plan on looking back a lot to the 90s. It was the decade of the D&D campaign setting boom (and TSR bust), of White Wolf’s gothic-punk narrative “Storytelling” games, and of the licensed game that will always hold a special place in my heart, West End Games’ Star Wars 2nd Edition.

Regarding material from my home game, I am currently running a Savage Worlds game in a home-brew fantasy realm that was collaboratively generated using Dawn of Worlds. While I will certainly post things that are specifically pertinent to the campaign’s background, I also hope that some of my house rules for the game will prove useful or inspirational to any GM running a fantasy campaign using Savage Worlds.

OK, that didn’t hurt too much. To paraphrase a great man, “Until next time, True Believers!”

Author: John Carr

Gamer, comic guy, office drone.

2 thoughts on “An Introduction”

Leave a Reply

